5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park

Komodo Dragons

5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park

5 Facts you need to know about Komodo National Park!

Here are the 5 Facts you need to know about Komodo National Park you should definitely know!

5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park

5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park
5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park

“Komodo National Park in Indonesia sits at the center of an archipelago and consists mainly of 3 volcanic islands. The landscape is unlike any other, ranging from dry savanna conditions to lush forests, all surrounded by white-sand beaches and bright blue water,” Google says. “Despite the plethora of native wildlife, Komodo dragons are still what the park is best known for. Thanks to National Parks like Komodo, wildlife can continue to thrive largely uninterrupted by human interference.”

Here’s what you need to know about Komodo National Park and Komodo dragons:

1. Komodo National Park Includes Komodo, Padar & Rinca, Along With Several Smaller Indonesian Islands

5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park
5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park

Komodo National Park is located in Indonesia within the Lesser Sunda Islands. It includes the islands of Komodo, Padar and Rinca, along with several other smaller islands, according to its website.

Including land and water, the national park covers about 1,100 miles.

The park was established in 1980, to “conserve the unique Komodo dragon (Varanus komodoensis) and its habitat. However, over the years, the goals for the Park have expanded to protecting its entire biodiversity, both terrestrial and marine,” the park’s website explains.

It was designated in 1990 as a UNESCO World Heritage site.

“These volcanic islands are inhabited by … giant lizards, whose appearance and aggressive behaviour have led to them being called ‘Komodo dragons’. They exist nowhere else in the world and are of great interest to scientists studying the theory of evolution. The rugged hillsides of dry savannah and pockets of thorny green vegetation contrast starkly with the brilliant white sandy beaches and the blue waters surging over coral,” UNESCO says.

2. The Island Is Home to More Than 3,000 Komodo Dragons, Along With Timor Deer & 72 Species of Birds

Komodo Dragons
Komodo Dragons

There are more than 3,000 Komodo dragons, and it was established originally to protect that species of giant lizards. But the island is also home to many other animals, including the Komodo dragon’s main prey, Timor deer, and 72 species of birds, according to the Komodo National Park website.

“Moreover, the Park includes one of the richest marine environments including coral reefs, mangroves, seagrass beds, seamounts, and semi-enclosed bays. These habitats harbor more than 1,000 species of fish, some 260 species of reef-building coral, and 70 species of sponges,” the national park says. “Dugong, sharks, manta rays, at least 14 species of whales, dolphins, and sea turtles also make Komodo National Park their home.”

According to the World Wildlife Fund, “Scientists, underwater photographers, and recreational sport divers alike travel from all over the globe to experience the spectacular biodiversity of more than 50 world-class dive sites ranging from challenging blue water current dives with a chance of glimpsing large pelagic species to discovering rare invertebrates on a ‘muck’ dive closer to shore.”

3. Male Komodo Dragons Can Be as Heavy as 170 Pounds & Females Weigh Up to 160 Pounds

Male Komodo Dragons
Male Komodo Dragons

Komodo dragons are the largest lizards living in the world, according to the Smithsonian’s National Zoo. It is also one of the few venomous lizards.

The average Komodo dragon weighs about 150 pounds, according to the zoo. The largest dragon ever recorded weighed 366 pounds and was 10 feet long, the National Zoo says.

Females weigh up to 160 pounds. Males generally weigh up to 176 pounds, according to the San Diego Zoo. The zoo says the dragons diet varies:

An adult Komodo dragon eats whatever food is available. Its natural prey, however, is the Timor deer. The deer are wary and quite agile, requiring the dragon to resort to lying in ambush in the long grass next to game trails, in order to be successful in hunting. When the deer pass by, the dragon uses its long claws and sharp teeth to attack. If the prey escapes, the dragon can rely on its long tongue to find its whereabouts, even up to a mile away (1.6 kilometers) away!

Komodo dragons also eat water buffalo and wild pigs, both of which were introduced by man, as well as snakes and fish that wash up on the shore. On Rinca and Komodo islands, pigs have become common in some areas and are now competitors for food with the big lizards. Some dragons have visible scars from conflicts with wild boars. Komodo dragons may also be cannibalistic. Fortunately, the young spend their lives in trees, which likely helps reduce their risk of predation from the adults.

4. They Can Run Up to 12 Miles Per Hour

komodo can run fast

Komodo dragons can run up to 13 miles per hour on land, according to the National Zoo.

“Its hunting strategy is based on stealth and power. They can spend hours in one spot, waiting for a deer, boar, goat or anything sizable and nutritious,” the zoo says. “When threatened, Komodos can throw up the contents of their stomachs to lessen their weight in order to flee.”

The dragons can also swim.

5. Komodo Dragons Are Not on the Endangered Species List but Are Considered to Be Vulnerable

Komodo dragons are not on the endangered species list, but are considered to be vulnerable, according to the San Diego Zoo:

Komodo Dragons Are Not on the Endangered Species

The magnificent Komodo dragon is vulnerable. Some might think that the largest lizard in the world wouldn’t have to worry about its safety. One study estimated the population of Komodo dragons within Komodo National Park to be 2,405. Another study estimated between 3,000 and 3,100 individuals. On the much larger island of Flores, which is outside the National Park, the number of dragons has been estimated from 300 to 500 animals. Komodo dragons that live outside of the National Park are at greatest risk, as habitat fragmentation and frequent burning of grasslands to hunt Timor deer are the greatest risks to their survival. On the island of Flores, Komodo habitat is shrinking quickly because of the impact of a human population of approximately 2 million.

The Komodo dragons tend to stay in the same location, according to the San Diego Zoo.

“Komodo dragons tend to remain within the same valleys they were hatched in. Only rarely have any individuals been recaptured in a different location from where they were initially discovered,” the zoo says. “Similarly, females often nest in the same nest location each time. We have some initial information that suggests that to become a very big male it may take as much as 20 years of growth, while for females 5 to 7 years seems to be when they reach maturity.”

They are estimated to live up to about 30 years.

So what are you waiting for? Le’ts go to see these komodos with us!

Komodo National Cheap Indoasia Tourtravel
Komodo National Cheap Indoasia Tourtravel

Share this on your social media!

and also follow us on facebook, twitter, and Instagram

the original article is here

5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park By Tom Cleary

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

QQ Information
Sina WeiboInstagramFacebook
Wechat QR
+6282121550685

5关于科莫多国家公园需要了解的事实

Komodo Dragons

5关于科莫多国家公园需要了解的事实

5关于科莫多国家公园需要了解的事实

这是您需要知道的关于科莫多国家公园的5个事实,你应该知道!

5关于科莫多国家公园需要了解的事实

5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park
5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park

“印度尼西亚的科莫多国家公园坐落在群岛的中心,主要由3个火山岛组成。谷歌说,景观与其他任何地方不同,从干燥的大草原条件到茂密的森林,都被白沙滩和明亮的蓝色水包围。 “尽管本土野生动植物多,科莫多龙仍然是公园最着名的。由于像科莫多这样的国家公园,野生动物可以在很大程度上不间断地受到人为干扰的茁壮成长。“

这是您需要了解的关于科莫多国家公园和科莫多龙:

科莫多国家公园包括科莫多,巴达尔和仁卡,以及几个较小的印度尼西亚群岛

5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park
5 Facts You Need to Know About Komodo National Park

科莫多国家公园位于印度尼西亚小僧侣群岛内。根据其网站,它包括科莫多岛,Padar和Rinca岛以及其他几个较小的岛屿。

包括土地和水域在内的国家公园约有1,100英里。

公园成立于1980年,旨在“保护独特的科莫多龙(Varanus komodoensis)”及其栖息地。然而,多年来,公园的目标已经扩大到保护其陆地和海洋的整个生物多样性,“公园的网站解释说。

1990年被指定为联合国教科文组织世界遗产。

“这些火山岛居住着巨大的蜥蜴,他的外表和侵略行为导致他们被称为”科莫多龙“。它们存在于世界其他地方,对于研究进化论的科学家来说是非常有意义的。教科文组织说,干燥的热带草原崎岖的山坡和棘手的绿色植被的口袋与辉煌的白色沙滩和蓝色的海水冲上珊瑚,与此形成鲜明对比。

2.岛上有超过3000只科莫多龙,还有帝斯鹿和72种鸟类

Komodo Dragons
Komodo Dragons

科莫多龙
有三千多只科莫多龙,它原本是为了保护这种巨型蜥蜴而建立的。根据科莫多国家公园网站,该岛还是许多其他动物的家园,包括科莫多龙的主要猎物,帝汶鹿和72种鸟类。

“此外,公园还包括最丰富的海洋环境之一,包括珊瑚礁,红树林,海草床,海山和半封闭的海湾。国家公园说,这些栖息地拥有1000多种鱼类,约260种珊瑚礁珊瑚和70种海绵。 “儒艮,鲨鱼,蝠rays,至少有14种鲸鱼,海豚和海龟也使科莫多国家公园成为他们的家园。”

据世界野生动物基金会介绍,“科学家,水下摄影师和娱乐运动潜水员从全球各地出发,体验50多个世界级潜水地点的壮观的生物多样性,从挑战性的蓝水潜水潜水,有机会瞥见大型中上层物种,在靠近岸边的“粪便”潜水中发现罕见的无脊椎动物。

男性科莫多龙可以重达170磅和女性称重高达160磅

Male Komodo Dragons
Male Komodo Dragons

男科科莫龙

根据史密森尼的国家动物园,科莫多龙是世界上最大的蜥蜴。它也是少数有毒蜥蜴之一。

根据动物园,平均科莫多龙重约150磅。国家动物园说,有史以来最大的龙重达366磅,长10英尺。

女性重达160磅。根据圣地亚哥动物园,男性通常重达176磅。动物园说龙的饮食不一样:

成年科莫多龙吃任何食物。然而,它的天敌是帝汶鹿。鹿很警惕,很敏捷,要求龙在游戏之后的长草中伏击伏击,以便狩猎成功。当鹿过去时,龙使用其长爪和锋利的牙齿进行攻击。如果猎物逃脱,龙可以依靠长舌头找到下落,甚至距离(1.6公里)远!

科莫多龙也吃水牛和野猪,两者都是由人引进的,以及在岸边洗澡的蛇和鱼。在仁卡和科莫多岛上,猪在一些地区变得很普遍,现在也是大蜥蜴的食物竞争者。一些龙与野猪的冲突有明显的疤痕。科莫多龙也可能是同类的。幸运的是,这些年轻人在树林里度过生命,这可能有助于降低他们从大人群中捕食的风险。

他们每小时可以跑12英里

komodo can run fast

根据国家动物园,科莫多龙可以在陆地上每小时跑13英里。

“它的狩猎策略是基于隐身和权力。 他们可以在一个地方花几个小时,等待鹿,野猪,山羊或任何相当大的营养,“动物园说。 “当受到威胁时,科莫多可以呕吐他们的肚子,以减轻体重,以逃离。

龙也可以游泳。

科莫多龙不在濒危物种名单上,但被认为是易受伤害的

根据圣地亚哥动物园,科莫多龙不在濒危物种清单上,但被认为是脆弱的,

Komodo Dragons Are Not on the Endangered Species

壮观的科莫多龙是脆弱的。有些人会认为,世界上最大的蜥蜴不必担心其安全。一项研究估计科莫多国家公园内科科多龙的人口为2,405人。另有研究估计有3,000至3,100人。在距离国家公园以外的更大的弗洛雷斯岛上,龙的数量估计为300至500只。居住在国家公园以外的科莫多龙风险最大,因为栖息地分散,草原频繁焚烧狩猎帝鹿是他们生存的最大风险。在弗洛勒斯岛,由于人口约200万人的影响,科莫多的栖息地迅速萎缩。

根据圣地亚哥动物园,科莫多龙往往停留在相同的位置。

动物园说:“科莫多龙往往保持在他们孵化的同一个山谷内,只有很少有人被重新捕获在与最初发现的地方不同的地方。” “同样,女性每次都经常嵌套在相同的巢穴位置。我们有一些初步信息表明,要成为一个非常大的男性,可能需要长达20年的增长,而对于5至7岁的女性来说,似乎是在成熟的时候。

他们估计可以活到大约30年。

你还在等什么?我们去看看这些科摩多吧!

Komodo  National Cheap Indoasia Tourtravel
Komodo National Cheap Indoasia Tourtravel

分享到您的社交媒体!

并在Facebook,Twitter和Instagram上关注我们

the original article is here

5关于科莫多国家公园需要了解的事实作者:Tom Cleary

 

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

QQ Information
Wechat QR
+6282121550685